Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Email us
Call us on - 023 8024 8116

How to cover your tracks online

WARNING: YOUR ABUSER CAN DISCOVER YOUR ONLINE ACTIVITIES

Please remember the information here may not completely hide your tracks. Your abuser may be suspicious if they find out that you have deleted your browsing history. If possible use a computer that they don't have access to, or if you can't, then use Private Browsing.

If an abuser knows where to look on your computer or mobile device, they may be able to see information you have viewed recently on the Internet.

You can clear the history of websites you've visited or empty your cache file in your browser’s settings. You should also turn off ‘autocomplete’ which completes the name of a web page once you’ve started to type the first few letters if you’ve visited that site before.

Private Browsing is an alternative way to browse the internet. By using Private Browsing your computer won't keep a record of the websites you visit.

  • Internet Explorer
  • Firefox
  • Google Chrome
  • Safari
  • Opera
Deleting your history

Select the tools icon in the top right corner (or press alt + X)

Click on internet options

Click on 'Delete'

Untick 'Preserve Favourites website data'

Tick all the other boxes and click on 'Delete'

Private browsing

Open the Safety menu

Select InPrivate Browsing

Or Press the following keys on the keyboard: Ctrl + Shift + P

Deleting your history

Open the Tools menu

Select Clear recent history

You will then see a new window

In Time range to clear, click down arrow and select Everything

Click down arrow by Details and make sure Browsing and download history and Cache are ticked

Open the Tools menu

Select Options

Select Privacy tab

Next to 'Firefox will:', click on down arrow – select Use custom settings for history

Untick Remember search and form history

Private browsing

Open the Tools menu

Select Start Private Browsing

Or Press the following keys on the keyboard: Ctrl + Shift + P

Deleting your history and disabling autofill

Click on the down arrow next to the picture of a spanner

Select History – this will open in a new window

On the left of the window, click on Edit items

Click on Clear all browsing data

Close the window

Click on the down arrow next to the picture of a spanner

Select Options

Select the Personal stuff tab

Next to Form autofill: click on Disable AutoFill

Private browsing

Click on the picture of the spanner

Click New incognito window

Or Press the following keys on the keyboard: Ctrl + Shift + N

Deleting your history

Open the settings menu by clicking the cog (settings) igon or ctrl + H

Highlight the site(s) you wish to delete (you can select them all by highlighting one, then using ctrl + A)

Click the delete button

Private browsing

Click on the cog icon and select Private Browsing so that it is ticked

Deleting your history

Click on Opera logo in the top left corner

Select 'History'

Make sure 'All' is selected and click on 'Clear browsing data'

Select the appropriate time scale from the drop-down list

Make sure all the boxes are ticked and click on the 'Clear browsing data' button

Private browsing

Click on the Opera logo in the top left corner

Select 'New Private Window'